Monday, May 14, 2012

Solar eclipse

  • Skywatchers in East Asia and the western United States should circle Sunday (May 20) on their calendars.
  • (
  • A rare solar eclipse will occur the afternoon of May 20, 2012. While solar eclipses occur twice every year, this is an annular or ring of fire eclipse which is much less common.
  • (Examiner)
  • The skies will darken noticeably in the late afternoon Sunday, May 20 during a rare solar eclipse in which the moon will blacken out most of the sun.
  • (Santa Rosa Press Democrat)
  • July 22, 2009: A total eclipse of the Sun was visible from within a narrow corridor that traverses half of Earth, captured by a NASA satellite.
  • (FOX News)
  • With a solar eclipse and a historic Venus transit of the sun both coming soon, hundreds of people had a chance to practice observing our star through dozens of specially filtered telescopes during a recent solar-observing bonanza in New York.
  • (Space News)
  • Come back on May 20 for live feeds of the annular solar eclipse from Slooh Space Camera's telescopes in Japan, California, Utah, and New Mexico. The feeds will start at 2:30 p.m. PDT/5:30 p.m. EDT/21:30 UTC and will last for about three hours.
  • (The Epoch Times)
  • A solar eclipse later this month that will be visible from a thin corridor across the northern Pacific Ocean is expected to cross parts of central and western Japan at around 7:30 a.m. local time on May 21.
  • (Wall Street Journal)
  • Lets talk about the annular solar eclipse Sunday. In case you havent heard, the moon will move to a spot perfectly aligned between the sun and Earth to create one of the skys most spectacular sights, an annular eclipse.
  • (MySanAntonio)
  • Eclipse-chasers have been known to plan their expeditions months or even years in advance, but if you can get to the western United States, theres still plenty of time to plan your party for this months solar eclipse.
  • (MSNBC Cosmiclog)

No comments:

Post a Comment